SBU Logo CAS Logo

Dept. Logo
Jim Lattimer honored with Bethe Prize  
SUNY Distinguished Professor James Lattimer has been selected to receive the prestigious Hans A. Bethe prize, which is sponsored by the American Physical Society (APS). Professor Lattimer is a member of the Astronomy Group in the Department of Physics and Astronomy.

According to the APS, Lattimer was selected, "For outstanding theoretical work connecting observations of supernovae and neutron stars with neutrino emission and the equation of state of matter beyond nuclear density."

The prestigious award is given annually by the American Physical Society to "recognize outstanding work in theory, experiment or observation in the areas of astrophysics, nuclear physics, nuclear astrophysics, or closely related fields." The prize, established to honor Hans A. Bethe, a renowned nuclear physicist at Cornell University, consists of $10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient.

read more


Links to all "What's new" sections: 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 and the latest.


Facebook   Linkedin   Address:
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3800
Phone: (631) 632 8100
Fax: (631) 632 8176
WEB page maintained by
Maria Sukhanova
Unless otherwise noted, all content © Department of Physics and Astronomy, Stony Brook University.