SBU Logo CAS Logo

Dept. Logo

Undergraduate Awards

The Feingold Prize in Introductory Astronomy is awarded each term to the students of high achievement and outstanding potential in each of the three courses, AST 101, 105, and 248. All registered students are eligible, but the emphasis will be to recognize those in the non-technical disciplines.

The The Fumi Kato Fellowship is awarded to undergraduate Physics majors with talent and good academic standing who have a strong desire for participating in research at the forefront of particle physics.

Lambe Prize

Muether Prize

Dr. Nathaniel and Fanie Soroff prize is awarded to excellent undergraduate or graduate students, and it recognizes outstanding contributions in physics.

Graduate Awards

Recruitment Awards

These awards are offered to students who are admitted to the Department for the next Fall semester.

Ben Lee Award
Benjamin W. Lee was born in Korea, and came to the United States as a student. He was a professor in the Institute of Theoretical Physics from 1966; he moved to Fermilab, where he became the head of the theoretical physics department, in 1973. The Award is offered to an entering or a first year student, preferably Korean.

The Graduate Council fellowship offers a $50,000 fellowship supplement to attract our best domestic applicants. Typically, the fellowship is paid as a supplement to program-level support (assistantship stipend, tuition scholarship, etc.) at the rate of $10,000 per year for five years - thus creating a five year support package valued at well over $100,000.

Turner Fellowship
The W. Burghardt Turner Fellowship is a Graduate Fellowship Program for qualified underrepresented students whose immediate academic plans include obtaining graduate or professional degrees in a variety of disciplines including the biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, medicine, humanities, engineering, and the arts.

Departmental Awards

These awards are managed by the Department. The nomination deadline is typically mid-April. For the Peter B. Kahn travel award nominations are accepted from September to next April.

The Di Tian Prize was established and named after a graduate student in our department who was unfortunately killed in a car accident in 1992. His widow, Zi Lee, set up the endowment with the instructions that the prize be awarded to an ethnic Chinese student who has demonstrated qualities of good citizenship in the department - note that being an excellent research and academic student may be necessary, but not sufficient to win.

The Max Dresden Prize is for outstanding theoretical thesis prize - for those students who defended during the recent year (June to May). See also this link about Max Dresden.)

David Fox Prize
The David Fox Prize is offered to the most outstanding graduate teaching assistant. See also this link about David Fox.

The Jonathan Kaufman Student Excellence Prize in Physics is be awarded to someone who has demonstrated excellence in graduate level education (courses, oral and comprehensive exams, research, etc.) It is to be used primarily for research-related travel.

The T. Alexander Pond Prize is offered to the graduate student with outstanding score on the Comprehensive Examination. A book and a $300 cash prize accompanies this award. See also this lin about T.A. Pond.)

The H. B. Silsbee Award for Excellence is offered to the most outstanding graduate student as measured by course work, prelim and comp exams and other accomplishments. See also this link about Hank Silsbee.)

Dr. Nathaniel and Fanie Soroff prize is awarded to excellent undergraduate or graduate students, and it recognizes outstanding contributions in physics.

The Lee Wilcox Prize was for outstanding experimental Ph.D. thesis.

Peter B. Kahn Fellowships
A fund has been established to support these fellowships in order to honor Professor Peter Kahn who joined the Department in 1961 and was Chairman from 1974-1985. He formally retired December 2002. Typically, three Fellowships of $700 each will be awarded each year to help students who have advanced to candidacy to attend an international summer school or other meeting that is primarily educational in nature and related to the student's area of research. The purpose of the award will be to extend the student's educational and professional development.

Stony Brook University Awards

These Awards are managed by the Graduate School, see more here. Nominations are made by the Graduate Program Director with the help of advising faculty.

External Awards

The BWIS Gertrude S. Goldhaber Prize has been established to to honor Gertrude Scharff-Goldhaber for her outstanding contributions in the field of nuclear physics, and also for her support of women in science, and to recognize substantial promise and accomplishment by a woman graduate student in physics. Brookhave Science Associates provides funding for the award which is administered by BWIS.

The Julian Baumert Thesis Award has been established in memory of Julian Baumert, a young Brookhaven physicist who was working on x-ray studies of soft-matter interfaces at the NSLS before he died in June 2006. The inaugural award was presented at the 2007 Joint NSLS and CFN Users' Meeting to a researcher who has recently conducted a thesis project that included measurements at the NSLS.

RHIC & AGS Thesis Award
Brookhaven National Laboratory invites Ph.D students to submit their theses to the RHIC & AGS Thesis Award Competition. The purpose of the award is to recognize the most outstanding thesis related to research conducted at the RHIC or AGS complex. The award was established by Stony Brook University and Battelle Memorial Institute and it is awarded annually.

Postdoc Award
The Postdoctorial Achievement Prize in Physics is awarded for exemplary theoretical physics or astronomy postdoc work in theory.

Facebook   Linkedin   Address:
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3800
Phone: (631) 632 8100
Fax: (631) 632 8176
WEB page maintained by
Nathan Leoce-Schappin
Unless otherwise noted, all content © Department of Physics and Astronomy, Stony Brook University.