SBU Logo CAS Logo

Dept. Logo
The Chancellor's Awards for Excellence 2017  

The Chancellor's Awards for Excellence are System-level honors conferred to acknowledge and provide system-wide recognition for consistently superior professional achievement and to encourage the ongoing pursuit of excellence. These programs underscore SUNY's commitment to sustaining intellectual vibrancy, advancing the boundaries of knowledge, providing the highest quality of instruction, and serving the public good. Through these awards, SUNY publicly proclaims its pride in the accomplishment and personal dedication of its instructional faculty, librarians and professional staff across its campuses. The awards provide SUNY-wide recognition in five categories:

  • Faculty Service,
  • Librarianship,
  • Professional Service,
  • Scholarship and Creative Activities, and
  • Teaching.

This year, the Department of Physics & Astronomy would like to congratulate: Laszlo Mihaly (Excellence in Faculty Service), Warren Siegel & Dmitri Kharzeev (Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities), and Betty Gasparino (Excellence in Professional Service).

Thank you for all you do!

See more here.


Links to all "What's new" sections: 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and the latest.


Facebook   Linkedin   Address:
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3800
Phone: (631) 632 8100
Fax: (631) 632 8176
WEB page maintained by
Axel Drees
Unless otherwise noted, all content © Department of Physics and Astronomy, Stony Brook University.